- Gourmet Kosher Cooking - http://www.gourmetkoshercooking.com -

Apple Cake

Posted By GKC On September 18, 2011 @ 2:10 am In Blog | No Comments


Almost as ubiquitous as honey cake is the Jewish apple cake. It is hard to imagine a Rosh Hashanah table without one luscious apple cake nestled among the other delicious desserts. Since we dip apples in honey for a sweet new year, we feel compelled to discover variations on the theme – and of course sample every possible apple-filled treat! I personally love the traditional apple cake (you know the one I mean with the crunch on top, the kind the some people bake in a sheet pan and call a kugel in order to justify eating it on Shabbos!), especially when presented in a tube pan with a golden ring of apples around the top. Yum!!! But everyone has there own preferences. So here is my favorite recipe (thank you Debby Segura!) as well as a few other possibilities. Send us yours – we’d love to post it!

Traditional Apple Cake [2]
Apple Cake with Caramel Glaze [3]
Apple Upside Down Cake [4]
Applesauce Spice Cake [5]

For other apple desserts, check out this Apple Crunch Galette [6] or Chef Jeffrey Nathan’s Fabulous Apple Cobbler [7].


Article printed from Gourmet Kosher Cooking: http://www.gourmetkoshercooking.com

URL to article: http://www.gourmetkoshercooking.com/2011/09/apple-cake/

URLs in this post:

[1] Image: http://www.printfriendly.com/print?url=http://www.gourmetkoshercooking.com/2011/09/apple-cake/

[2] Traditional Apple Cake: http://www.gourmetkoshercooking.com/2011/09/traditional-apple-cake/

[3] Apple Cake with Caramel Glaze: http://www.gourmetkoshercooking.com/2011/09/apple-cake-with-caramel-glaze/

[4] Apple Upside Down Cake: http://www.gourmetkoshercooking.com/2011/09/apple-upside-down-cake/

[5] Applesauce Spice Cake : http://www.gourmetkoshercooking.com/2011/09/applesauce-spice-cake/

[6] Apple Crunch Galette: http://www.gourmetkoshercooking.com/2010/08/apple-crunch-galette/

[7] Chef Jeffrey Nathan’s Fabulous Apple Cobbler: http://www.gourmetkoshercooking.com/2010/08/chef-jeffrey-nathan%E2%80%99s-fabulous-apple-cobbler/

Copyright © 2009 Gourmet Kosher Cooking. All rights reserved.